The Reality of My School Part 1: Stress

“You made it through one week of school and it’s a Friday.

Go on, take a nap and have a good dessert. You deserve it.”

Reading this, I realized that, yes wow, I do deserve a good nap and a good dessert. Which made me wonder: why don’t I nap and eat good food again? Then I remembered.

I don’t have the time.

This is one of the really annoying things of being in an advanced science school. We’re never really given that much time to not do schoolwork. Every Friday from the dorm inside campus I go back to my house which is approximately 2-4 hours away from school depending on traffic. I arrive at around 9 or 10 in the evening and go to sleep at around 1 am trying to finish as much homework as possible. Then I wake up around 10 the next day and immediately start again, sometimes forgetting to eat and only noticing I’m hungry when my mom comes in my room with food. Up until Sunday 12 midnight I’m still trying to finish requirements.

Of course there are a lot of factors that lead to these late hours such as the time I take for procrastination but I’ve been working on it and recently it’s becoming less and less. The late hours still don’t change. Even as I write this now and as you read this whenever, I’m still probably going to have a huge mountain of requirements, or reqs, as we call them, piled all over me and I’m probably not going to grow any taller because of my lack of sleep.

I’m really getting worried for my health now, there’s such thing as a broken heart syndrome and it happens when a person is exposed to stress for long periods of time. I’m not the only one who’s scared. All my classmates and batchmates are. Especially since this year is when we branch out into 3 sciences and 2 maths. They’re all basic but that doesn’t mean the stress is high.

That’s not all, I mean, the week hasn’t even started and you’re already given 2 papers, 2 lab reports, 2 long tests, 3 chapters to read and take notes on, quizzes, and homeworks to complete and study for and the week hasn’t even started. To be honest, they seem kind of little but not with the quality that the teachers demand. They have really high expectations and from a school where everything was easy for me and I was at the top, I kind of have pretty high expectations too.

Because of this stress, I don’t even have the time to have a decent night’s sleep much less take a nap and if ever I do get the time to take a nap during a study break, I wouldn’t be surprised if I woke up 6AM the next day already.

Sigh I guess I should get back to my homework. It’s already 2 AM, maybe I can get dessert tomorrow.

The Reality of My School Part 1: Stress

Leave a comment